Earlier this morning I attended my Film 177 class in which the course description is ‘Women and Cinema’. I came in late and the class was already doing an activity. Good thing the professor was in a good mood. The professor, Miss Avie Felix, asked me “and you are?” in which I dutifully answered by saying my surname. She joked to me “no, you are really late.”

So anyway, my seatmate is kind enough to explain to me what the activity is about. As it turned out the class was asked to explain, deconstruct, make a poem, explain or just plainly continue the words stating “I AM WOMEN.”

I got excited with this activity, thinking this could be a good excuse for me to do poetry which is totally different from news writing. So after a few minutes I ended up with a poem. I explained to the class the content of this poem before reading it out loud (everyone was asked to read out loud and explain their respective concepts). Here is the poem:


I AM WOMEN

I hold half of the sky
half of the world
half of my nation
I AM WOMEN

Look at me
I am not just breasts
nor just vagina
I AM WOMEN

See me
I am your wife, mother,
daughter
, your sister
I AM WOMEN

Stop mispronouncing me
My place was never just at the kitchen
not even the bedroom

My place is not at home
No, it is not just at home
My home is in the struggle

I am half of the force for societal change
I AM WOMYN